top of page
  • Writer's pictureAWAWA Editorial

FAQs Regarding All of Our Grants Programs

Updated: Jul 17, 2019

At AWAWA, grants are economic aid issued by our Association with the support of the AWAWA Foundation. A grant is an award of financial assistance from AWAWA to a recipient to carry out a public purpose of support or stimulation authorized by a law of the applicable local countries.

Generally grants fall into four categories.

Competitive Funding

Also known as discretionary funding, competitive funding is a process of proposal selection based on the evaluation of a reviewer or team of reviewers. Funding is based on the merits of the application, and recipients are not pre-determined.

Formula Funding

In contrast to competitive funding, formula grants are given to pre-determined recipients. Non-competitive awards are usually allocated to eligible entities according to population and/or other census criteria, and all applicants who meet the minimum requirements of the application process are entitled to receive money.

Continuation Funding

Continuation funding grant programs offer current award recipients the option of renewing grants for the following year. Some programs are restricted to existing grantees only, while others invite applications from current grantees and new applicants. Since priority is often given to continuing applicants, if you are a new applicant, you should consider entering into a partnership with a currently funded entity.

Pass-Through Funding

Pass-through grants are funds given by the federal government to the states for further distribution to local governments. Under this funding structure, states may disburse federal funds to eligible local jurisdictions through formula allocations or open competitions.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page